Hixon Forest Park

After spending most of the week of my vacation in Hutchinson, MN, Joel and I headed to La Crosse, WI for the weekend.  My sister Melinda, had come up to visit on Wednesday so she came along with us as well.  We all drove to La Crosse Thursday afternoon after Joel was done working.  Since we got into town late, we stayed at a hotel (we had a campsite reservation for the next 2 nights – post to follow).

Friday morning we hung out with Melinda in the morning before she headed home.  We walked around the downtown area and got some ice cream at The Pearl – so yummy!  It was such a nice day that we wanted to get out and enjoy the weather.  I knew of a good trail to hike that I had been on once in college.  It ends with great views of La Crosse and the river valley below.  We hiked the Vista Trail in Hixon Forest Park.  I’m not sure how long the trail was, it took us a couple hours so I’m guessing at least 2 miles one way.

This map was very confusing

This map was very confusing to follow

Heading up the trail

Heading up the trail

The view at the top was amazing!  Blue skies and a nice breeze.  We took a bunch of pictures and sat for awhile before heading back down.  I’m glad we had time for the hike and were able to spend some time in the city.

We made it to the overlook!

We made it to the overlook!

DSCF1134

Yay! I love La Crosse!

Leave a comment